Day 2: Gaining Confidence and Weight Shifting

Today was about gaining confidence on my skates and shifting weight between legs.

I still couldn’t take any steps or push off properly from any side, but I imagine that’s still a few practice days away before any progress on that front.

Simply standing on skates, without holding onto the blue skating assistant, and shifting weight between the left leg and right leg was my goal. In doing so, I was able to gain more confidence in my skates.

The feeling wasn’t terrifying anymore.

Eventually, I was able to slide by thrusting forward between legs, without taking any steps.

The video below is a glimpse of the progress made today, and a reminder that I always need to keep my focus levels high. The second my mind drifted slightly, I lost balance and my prosthetic side started running on me.

Leave a Reply

