Day 1: First time on the Ice. Oh Boy!

10579173_10204336127397982_875339212_o
Can you sense the terrified feeling inside?

Today was the big day!

In the morning, we made our way to the skating areas beside Scadding Court Community Centre. I was joined by two of my brothers, two friends, and one cousin.

Having put on the boots, I made my way to the ice without much trouble but with a body and mind nervously vibrating.

Walk to the ice. Check.

Now to step onto the ice. That went… (I’ll let you determine that based on the video).

Props to Nayan Kabir for enduring that fall. Sorry for weighing almost twice as much as you!

Oh boy. Those moments were terrifying. Not only was I struggling to control my left leg (the actual leg), but my right leg (prosthetic side) was even worse. It kept running on me. I quickly realized gaining some control over the leg would be my greatest challenge.

In saying that, it felt pretty cool to fall at the end. It’s a part of the process, I need to understand that and embrace it. I didn’t get hurt and most importantly it gave me a chance to reset and breathe. However, getting up off the ground would be the next challenge…

I said earlier gaining control over my prosthetic leg will be my biggest challenge. I certainly have the confidence to believe I’ll overcome it.

But getting up off the ground, right now I don’t feel confident that one day I’ll be able to do it properly. I’ve been encouraged by my brother, advising me I’ll be able to once I learn how to dig into the ice with my prosthetic. But I can’t help shake off the sensation of doubt.

My right leg just doesn’t bend enough for me to get up on that side. The only way I’ve been doing it outside of the ice is on my left side with both hands on the ground. I guess we’ll have to leave that one up to time and see what comes of it.

After the first round on the ice, one of the rink managers came over and suggested a blue, walker-like tool to help me take some steps on the ice.

989512_10204335970514060_119265275_o

I didn’t know such a thing existed. I still don’t even know what it’s called. But once I started using it the motions began turning the right way.

Overall, it was a great day.

A few things went well, most things didn’t. But what’s important was if progress was made. Did I feel better?  Was I able to do some things I couldn’t do upon arrival?  Based on the clip below, I’d say progress was made.

I’m thankful to have brothers and friends who are committed to helping me through this process. There wasn’t much else I could have asked for.

Credit to Anin Tafader for the work behind the camera.

Leave a Reply

